Kyrgyzstan  > Political Risk Analysis


Social Democratic Party (SDPK)

Chynbay Tursunbekov

Nature of Party
Social Democrats, pushing to maintain a parliamentary system.


•    •    •



The Social Democratic Party (SDPK) was founded in 1993, two years after Kyrgyzstan independence from the Soviet Union. Abdygany Erkebaev was the SDPK’s first chairmen and he was replaced in 1999 by Almazbek Atambayev

The SDPK merged with the larger El Party in October 2004, the aim of which was to become a substantial voting bloc for the February 2005 parliamentary elections. The party rose to further prominence for taking a leading role in the 2005 Tulip Revolution and the protests against President Bakiyev in April and November 2006. 

Atambayev unsuccessfully ran in the presidential election of 2000 and 2009. However, after the 2010 revolution Atambayev assumed the office of first deputy prime minister of the Provisional Government and later Prime Minister of the Kyrgyz Republic under Interim President Roza Otunbayeva

In 2010 the SDPK formed a ruling coalition with Respublika and Ata Jurt, however due to disagreements the coalition disintegrated by the end of 2011. 

In December 2011 the party chairmen Atambayev was elected president of the Kyrgyz Republic. Due to Kyrgyzstan electoral laws Atambayev had to distance himself from the party when he assumed the presidency, he was replaced as party chairmen by Chynbay Tursunbekov.

After the failure of the previous coalition a new one was formed. This time the SPDK allied with Respublika, Ar-Namys, and Ata Meken. However, yet again the coalition disintegrated this time leaving out Respublika from the new coalition. 

After the 2015 parliamentary election SDPK won 38 seats becoming the largest party. However it did not achieve an individual monopoly so it formed a ruling coalition with the Kyrgyzstan party (18  seats), Onuguu-Progress (13) and Ata-Meken (11). Previous coalitions of the SDPK have been hampered by the threat of defection, however as the SPDK increased its number of seats the coalition can survive one party leaving. 


Key Members

Roza OtunbayevaInterim President

Almazbek AtambayevCurrent President

Chynybay Tursunbekov – Supreme Council of Kyrgyzstan 

Jogorku Kenesh – Supreme Council of Kyrgyzstan



October 1993 - SDPK was founded 

2000 - Presidential Election - Atambayev won 6 percent of the vote, coming third

2007 - Parliamentary Elections - won 11 seats 

2009 - Presidential Elections – Atambayev withdrew before the election, due to election fraud, thought to have come 2nd

2010Revolution – Roza Otunbayeva becomes Interim President, Almazbek Atambayev becomes Prime Minister

2010-2011 – The SDPK form a government coalition with Ata Jurt and Respublika. It fails and Ata Jurt are left out of new coalition

2011-2012 – A new coalition is formed with SDPK, Respublika, Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan, Ar-Namys, and Ata Meken. Coalition collapses and Respublika dropped out. 

2011Presidential Election – Atambayev becomes president 

2015Parlimentary Elections – SDPK wins 38 seats and it the largest party. Forms a coalition with  Kyrgyzstan party (18  seats), Onuguu-Progress (13) and Ata-Meken (11).




Kyrgyzstan – Political risk analysis



Designed by Oliver McGough
Using Format