Kyrgyzstan  > Political Risk Analysis



In August 1991 the Kyrgyz republic was formed after the Kyrgyz Soviet Republic declared independence from the Soviet Union. Originally a parliamentary system was used however as the president took greater power between 1993-2007 it became a de facto presidential structure. However, since 2010 it has reverted back to a parliamentary system when a new constitution was created. 



The current structure is that of a parliamentary representative democratic republic. 

In this structure the President is head if state. While the government is led by the Prime Minister, the government exercises executive power. While legislative power falls under both the parliament and government. The constitution allows for an independent judiciary, although the government prosecutors office is seen to have an influence over the wider judiciary. The legal courts are formed on a local, municipal and regional courts, which all fall under the Supreme Court.


Executive Positions & incumbents

Current President: Almazbek Atambayev

The President is elected every 6 years in a popular vote. They are only allowed to stay for one six-year term. 

Left; Incumbent President Almazbek Atambayevsince 2011

Current President: Sooronbay Jeenbekov

The Prime Minister is chosen by parliament, who is then approved by the president. When one party fails to get a majority the president will push for one of the parties to form a coalition. 

Left; Incumbent Prime Minister Sooronbay Jeenbekov, since April 2016

First deputy prime minister: Tayyrbek Sarpashev

Deputy prime ministers:  Valeriy Dil & Abdyrakham Mamataliev

Agriculture: Taalaibek Aydaraliev

Defence: Abibilla Kudayberdiev

Economy & competition policy: Temir Sariev

Emergency situations: Kupatbek Boronov

Energy & industry: vacant

Finance: Olga Lavrova

Foreign affairs: Erlan Abdyldayev

Internal affairs: Melis Turganbayev

Justice: Almambet Shykmamatov

Labour, employment & migration: Aliyasbek Alimkulov

Transport & communications: Kalykbek Sultanov

Head of National Security: Bursurmankul Tabaldiev

Acting central bank chairman: Tolkunbek Abdygulov 


Legislative branch

The legislative branch of the government is formed by an elected unicameral chamber called the Jogorku Kenesh

The chamber is formed of 120 seats which each incumbent elected for a five-year term. The candidates are picked by proportional representation from central party lists. This recent change has occurred in an attempt to stop a repeat of violence that occurred around local elections. However, each party has to get over 7% of the vote nationally, in addition they have to achieve more than 0.7% in all regions and both the cities of Bishkek and Osh.


Latest Parliamentary Elections Results - 2015



Kyrgyzstan – Political risk analysis



Designed by Oliver McGough
Using Format